Built to complement Glen Grant, and indeed known for a period as Glen Grant Number 2 distillery, Caperdonich never really came into its own, although it has always had its own small band of followers who have long recognised its unique qualities, if only as a second ranking malt destined inevitably for the blending halls.
Built in 1898 across the road from Glen Grant, it only lasted a few years before going silent in 1902. And so it remained until 1965 when demand for Glen Grant led to its reopening, still as Glen Grant No 2, after much refurbishment. Expansion to four stills took place and the distillery took on the name of Caperdonich in 1977. It carried on in that guise for nearly 25 years before being sold to Pernod Ricard in 2001. They promptly closed it down and sold the site to Forsyth’s, the coppersmiths of still making fame. Sadly, the site was demolished in 2011. However, the spirit lives on in the form of mainly independent bottlings of different years.